FYI: The Chronology and Rating of the Lost Tales

People don’t often ask me directly, but I’ve seen it searched and asked online enough to find two common questions about the Lost Tales. I have heard you and I shall answer.


I intentionally wrote the Lost Tales of Mercia out of order. However, if you’d like to read the Lost Tales (and Eadric the Grasper, for that matter) in chronological sequence, that’s fine too. Here’s how you would do it:

1. The Second Lost Tale of Mercia: Ethelred the King (978 A.D.)

2. The First Lost Tale of Mercia: Golde the Mother (993 A.D.)

3. The Fourth Lost Tale of Mercia: Athelward the Historian (993 A.D.)

4. The Third Lost Tale of Mercia: Aydith the Aetheling (1001 A.D.)

5. The Ninth Lost Tale of Mercia: Runa the Wife (1001-1006 A.D.)

6. The Tenth Lost Tale of Mercia: Edmund the Aetheling (1002 A.D.)

Eadric the Grasper (begins 1002 A.D. and goes to 1017 A.D. Therefore, the following stories actually take place during/in between the events of the novel)

7. The Sixth Lost Tale of Mercia: Hastings the Hearth Companion (1004 A.D.)

8. The Seventh Lost Tale of Mercia: Hildred the Maid (1005 A.D.)

9. The Eighth Lost Tale of Mercia: Canute the Viking (1012 A.D.)

10. The Fifth Lost Tale of Mercia: Alfgifu the Orphan (1014 A.D.)

People also ask me whether to read the Lost Tales of Mercia or Eadric the Grasper first. I mean it when I say you can read in whatever order you want. There are bound to be little spoilers here and there but nothing too drastic; I intended it that way. However, if I’m pushed for an opinion, I say read Eadric the Grasper first, probably because I wrote it first so it feels most natural to me. Then go back and read about the characters that interest you most.

Rating / Maturity Level

People are also curious whether the Lost Tales of Mercia are suitable for kids. I’m probably not qualified to say, because if I had kids, I think I’d let them read whatever they wanted. But I imagine most people would reply “no,” the Lost Tales of Mercia are not for young kids. Young adults–maybe. If they were movies, the Lost Tales of Mercia in general and Eadric the Grasper would probably be PG-13; Godric the Kingslayer and Edric the Wild would most definitely be R.

There is sex, there is violence, there is language, and a splash of homosexuality in just about everything I write. What can I say? I love drama, and I follow the story where it leads me.

Published in: on July 29, 2011 at 3:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s