Art Begets Art

So recently I was honored by this beautiful painting by Del Melchionda:

"Odin Falling" by Del Melchionda

It is Tosti from the Eighth Lost Tale, “Canute the Viking.” And I must say, along with feeling like one of the luckiest writers ever, I was especially moved by the mere fact that I played a part in inspiring such a piece from someone else’s creative mind.

This got me thinking again about creativity in general, and where it comes from. Inspiration comes from so many places, I believe, though I am sure the “safe” thing to say is that true inspiration is born of reality. But in the modern world, our perception of reality is warped by so many things, not the least of which are video games, movies, the internet, etc. I don’t necessarily see this as a bad thing. To me it is an incredible phenomenon, almost as if humanity is coming closer and closer to telepathy. We pass our perception of the world from one person to the next, who may change it a little and then pass it on to someone else, and so on and so on.

That was a bit of a tangent. In any case, I feel that now is as good a time as any to mention one of my greatest sources of inspiration, which is music.

Warning: I love ridiculously melodramatic music, with bombastic strings, metal guitars, chanting choirs, and occasionally screaming vocals … and yes, I like it best all at once. Now, sometimes I do write to more ambient music, and sometimes I write to complete silence. More often, I listen to music like the pieces below to pump myself up before I ever start typing. Sometimes I just close my eyes and listen, and the music sparks ideas.

I tried to find a legitimate way to share some of this music with you and hopefully spread the word about some of these more obscure bands. I listen to a lot of classical music and soundtracks as well, and numerous bands that weren’t available through this website. But I tried to pick out some music that still gives you an idea of what I like to listen to … and hopefully it is music that inspires you, as well!

Naturally, feel free to do a little reading while you’re listening 🙂


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones
Published in: on September 14, 2010 at 1:12 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://talesofmercia.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/art-begets-art/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

